Interceding for Georgina

The girl I mentioned in my  Lost and Found blog, Georgina, hasn’t been around lately. She missed Wednesday prayer meeting and then church this past Sabbath. One of the second year missionaries said we should pray for her. Today, I was cutting out some letters and suddenly she popped into my mind. I quickly sent her a text to say Hi.

A little bit later, she called me. I was surprised, but of course happy to hear from her. She called to say she is up in another province, several hundred kilometers away with her Dad. (Mom lives here in the city.). She is ready to come back after visiting for a week, but he wants her to stay to cook and clean for him. She seemed a little worried about asking him to return to the capital. Since the bus was leaving in just a few hours, she needed to talk to him soon. I asked if there was anything I could do, talk to her dad or something. First she wanted to pray! (yay!) so we did. I had scary goosebumps as I prayed with her. She got off the phone, promising to call back.

Straight away, it hit me: What have I gotten myself in to? I called a second year student missionary , as well as a career missionary (CM) to ask their opinion. Saving face, especially when talking to elders is a big thing here. Plus, I think the family probably knows she hangs out with Christians.

Anyway, the missionaries  reassured me and talked me through  it. Then, I just prayed for everything! They asked why I felt like she needed to come back. It was good to pinpoint it for myself. School is starting next week and she’s a very good student–going into advanced English in college prep!!! Personally,  she’s been a good help to me as I practice the local language and develop friendships. Most importantly, she’s a new Christian, and the first in her family. She needs Christian support.

She called back a few minutes later. Dad is letting her come back to the city tomorrow!  YAY! Praise God! anddddd…yup, it gets better -> she told me, her mom is having financial problems right now. So, when she gets back in town, she’s going to talk to her mom about coming to church for the first time because, “Maybe God can help her get money.”

WOWOWOWWOW. I’m sooo excited for her and she’s excited too. I told her I’d be praying for her and I asked if my friends/family in America could pray for her too. She was very positive, “Yes, that would be very good!”  Please lift Georgina up in prayer!

About adaraabroad

Adara Hadriel lives in Southeast Asia teaching English and doing community outreach among the Tai-Kadai people. She is married to a Tai-Kadai Christian pastor, Caiden. Because they live in a 'Creative-Access Country', or a country unfriendly to evangelism, names of people and places have been changed.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

