A Child Will Teach Them

Happy New Year!

December was a busy, but refreshing month. It was so good to see so many friends and family up and down the East Coast! I appreciated people opening up their home and making time to hang out.

I want to tell a story that I shared during my presentation for those who weren’t able to attend.

Meet Nisa. She’s a resilient and talkative 4-year-old who lives in my apartment complex. Her mom is quite busy, her siblings have all moved away and her dad lives on the other side of town. She’s far from shy though, roaming freely, popping in and out of many of the apartments and chatting with all the neighbors.

From the first day I moved in, she has come to play regularly. Whether it’s puzzles, Legos, or coloring books, she always finds something to do.Image

The first month I was here, she also found my children’s picture Bible in the Tai-Kadai language. She loved looking at the pictures and learning stories of the people in each picture. She would count Joseph’s brothers, ask where Adam and Eve lived or build Lego replicas of the ark.

One day, Nisa brought her younger cousin to play. The other little girl had the most empty look in her eyes that I’ve ever seen from a child. She was timid and so reserved that she would hardly look at me. Finally, I just left them alone to play while I worked in the kitchen. A few minutes later, I overheard Nisa explaining to her playmate that God loves everyone. I peeked into the living room to see her sharing her favorite story – Noah and the rainbow. What a story to share with a girl who needs love!

People, no matter their age, need to know that God loves them. Nisa heard the Good News and wanted to share it.  Whether it’s through our actions or our words, this year, let’s each shine God’s love to an empty and lost world.

Have you been impressed to support this ministry to the Tai-Kadai people? My fundraising goal has not yet been reached. Consider a one-time gift to help me complete my current goal or a monthly gift to continually support me as I work with Nisa and the Tai-Kadai people.

About adaraabroad

Adara Hadriel lives in Southeast Asia teaching English and doing community outreach among the Tai-Kadai people. She is married to a Tai-Kadai Christian pastor, Caiden. Because they live in a 'Creative-Access Country', or a country unfriendly to evangelism, names of people and places have been changed.
This entry was posted in missions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

