God’s babies (and ours)

Baby Girl is here and we are thrilled! Please allow me to share thoughts on her for this blog entry. Caiden and I are learning things that every parent learns along the way, but because they’re new to us, they are inspiring to us.

Baby Girl’s name has several meanings depending on the language- revelation of God, beauty, and divine. And she has lived up to her names in her 2 short months. babyblogWe think she’s absolutely beautiful (shamelessly bias as it may be). But, what a revelation of God it is to have a child! It’s hard to put into words the love we have for our daughter. It’s so different from the love we have for each other. She has truly revealed a new type of love. And I think it might just be a shadow of the love God has for us.

When she was just over two weeks old, I had to take her to the clinic to get her tongue tie snipped. I wasn’t worried about it. I’d read up on Google about the procedure and it didn’t sound too bad. But that was the first day I can truthfully say I was heartbroken for her. (No reflection on the doctor who was wonderful.) Imagine, standing beside the examining table, holding down my own child as she violently tossed and turned, fighting me. The doctor carefully gripping a sharp tool and aiming into her quaking mouth while she shrieked. And with a tiny slice, her blood ran. By the end, I was crying and wet with her blood as well.  I tell you, I ached to see her hurt. My mind told me it was what she needed. In my heart, I wanted it to be me on that table. I couldn’t wait for the procedure to be over so I could just hug and hold her and then we could get out of there.

God aches when He sees us hurt. If only there wasn’t this filthy thing called sin that gets us all tied up. Though we can’t see Him, often times because we’re so focused on the pain and clouded with tears, He’s beside us, holding us.  While we go through that painful experience, He’s there, hurting with us. It’s a good thing He’s God. He’s big enough to take it because there sure are a lot of aching people hurting in this world. What’s more, He’s looking forward, anxiously, eagerly, to that day when His Son can get us out of this terribly traumatic world; when we can finally be hugged and welcomed into Heaven.

And so, though there were sleepless nights (she started sleeping through the night before she was two months old!), and whiney days, Caiden and I are tremendously grateful that God answered our prayer for a child in His time. She has been and continues to be a beautiful revelation of our divine Father.

About adaraabroad

Adara Hadriel lives in Southeast Asia teaching English and doing community outreach among the Tai-Kadai people. She is married to a Tai-Kadai Christian pastor, Caiden. Because they live in a 'Creative-Access Country', or a country unfriendly to evangelism, names of people and places have been changed.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

