Life Changes–Same but Different

About this time six years ago, I was preparing for a big, new adventure. I was wrapping up life in Florida before heading up to Ohio for the last goodbyes. Some asked how long I’d be gone. I flippantly answered something like, “Maybe two years or so unless God just gives me a Tai-Kadai man. Then I guess it’ll be forever.” They say sarcasm always holds some truth in it. Seems almost prophetic now.

Life has changed in more ways than imaginable. I’ll spare you the slew of details, but suffice it to say there have been emotional roller coasters. Cultural differences and identity rehashing. Grieving and celebrating. Starting a family and then adding to that family. I have been privileged, since even before I arrived, to have had your support through it all in the form of prayers, personal support and financial gifts. Thank you.

However, the time has come to part ways with my sending organization. I will always be grateful for this organization and their purpose. Serving others must be intentional or it will never transpire. They are deliberate in their vision and have the needs of others at the heart of their mission.

I hope you been blessed through your support for me. If you still desire to give, there are families who have dedicated years here as well as students just jumping in for a year or two who would be appreciative of your support.
I plan to continue sharing updates and stories so stay tuned. And of course our family still covets your prayers.

Finally, I again want to make it a point to say a sincere thank you to each person and family who gave from their spiritual and financial means. You’re fantastic. I hope to one day soon introduce you to some of my Tai-Kadai friends as we stroll through Heavenly orchards and tell funny stories with Jesus.

Until then: Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers. Galatians 6:9-10 (NIV)

About adaraabroad

Adara Hadriel lives in Southeast Asia teaching English and doing community outreach among the Tai-Kadai people. She is married to a Tai-Kadai Christian pastor, Caiden. Because they live in a 'Creative-Access Country', or a country unfriendly to evangelism, names of people and places have been changed.
This entry was posted in missions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

